Chapter X University Scholarships

The university awards different types of scholarships. The regulations for assigning/granting them are provided in the Decision No.4 of 29 September 2011 by the BSU Representative Council on Approval of Regulations for Assigning and Granting the BSU Scholarships for the BSU Students (**Annex 4 of this Guideline**).

The BSU scholarships are assigned for:

- a) **The first year students of the BSU Bachelor level** who, after passing the national exams, acquired the right to pursue the next level of education at the education programmes of the first choice as indicated in their application (registration application form), and also have the highest (scaled) score for the fourth, additional exam among the students of the same faculty. Scholarship (in the amount of GEL 100 monthly) is conferred during the first semester of the first year from 1st October till February inclusive;
- b) Ordinary scholarship for 'B' students (in the amount of GEL 50 monthly) since the second year (third semester) for the BSU Bachelor students distinguished for their academic excellence (who have at least 'B' evaluation status for each course covered in the education programme);
- c) Ordinary scholarship for 'A' students (in the amount of GEL 100 monthly) since the second semester for the BSU Bachelor students distinguished for their academic excellence (who have at least 'A' evaluation status for each course covered in the previous semester of the education programme);
- d) 'Honorific scholarship' (in the amount of GEL 150 monthly) since second year (the third semester) conferred at the respective faculty on the BSU Bachelor and Master's students whose GPA for the education programme courses equals or exceeds 91 and is distinguished by active scientific activity (have published scientific research paper in the respective field, or participated in different scientific or educational conferences, seminars, symposiums, etc. and have high achievements);
- e) Scholarship in name of Avtandil Baratashvili (in the amount of GEL 312.50) for the BSU Bachelor and Master's students who fall into the socially vulnerable group and are distinguished for their academic excellence (81 points and above). The scholarship is assigned starting from the second year (the 3rd semester), if the evaluation of each education programme course of the previous year is 'C' (81 points and above). The scholarship period covers the period from October till July inclusive of the respective academic year;
- f) University honorific scholarships (in the amount of GEL 200): 1. Shota Rustaveli Scholarship; 2. Khusein Nakaidze Scholarship – since the second year (the third semester) of the respective faculty, for the BSU Bachelor and Master's students whose GPA for the education programme courses equals or exceeds 91 and is distinguished by active scientific activity (have published scientific research paper in the respective field, or participated in different scientific or educational conferences, seminars, symposiums, etc. and have high achievements);
- g) **One-time scholarship for the students participating in the exchange programme** – granted by the Rector's ordinance in line with the acknowledgement of the credits obtained by students in a university outside Georgia. The amount of the scholarship equals to the cost of the credits acknowledged. The foundation for issuing legal acts on awarding and conferring a scholarship is the respective Faculty Dean's justified notification and the student's application.

BSU confers the following 'honorific scholarships':

Faculty of Humanities

- 1) Prof. Roland Komakhidze scholarship;
- 2) Prof. Davit Khakhutaishvili scholarship;
- 3) Prof. Abel Surguladze scholarship;
- 4) Selim Khimshiashvili scholarship.

Faculty of Sciences and Health Care

- 1) Academician Memed Komakhidze scholarship;
- 2) Docent Vladimer Komakhidze scholarship;
- 3) Docent Otar Akhvlediani scholarship.

Faculty of Physics, Mathematics, and Computer Sciences

- 1) Academician Dursun Baladze scholarship;
- 2) Khusein Khalvashi scholarship.

Faculty of Education

- 1) Silovan Dadunashvili scholarship;
- 2) Gulo Agha Kaikatsishvili scholarship.

Faculty of Law

1) Prof. Sergo Jorbenadze scholarship.

Faculty of Social and Political Studies

1) Tbel Abuselidze scholarship.

Faculty of Economy and Business

- 1) Prof. Vakhtang Papunidze scholarship;
- 2) Prof. Valerian Melkadze scholarship;
- 3) Prof. Givi Gamsakhurdia scholarship.

Faculty of Technologies

- 1) Niko Nikoladze scholarship;
- 2) Academician Levan Kanchaveli scholarship.

Faculty of Tourism

1) Ekvtime Takaishvili scholarship.

The scholarships are not assigned/granted to:

- a) BSU students with the status suspended;
- b) Students who have not completely covered the credits at the respective stage of the education programme (except for the students who have completed the exchange programme until the expiration of the period set by the Faculty for obtaining the credits that differ between the programmes).

Students, including the ones receiving the state scholarship, may not be assign two different and one and the same scholarships simultaneously, or if assigned, the scholarship of student's choice is eventually granted.